Handsfree driving laws go into effect today: Find out what it means to you
By Joni Blecher Follow me on Twitter | Tuesday, July 01, 2008 (permalink)
View more posts for Observed
Today, the new driving laws for the state of California go into effect, which means that the way Californians talk and drive is about to change. While there are a lot of details involved in the new law, here are some of the highlights:
Drivers pulled over for using handheld wireless devices while driving and fined $20 and $50 for each subsequent violation. (Note: Additional fees can apply)
Violations have no adverse effect on drivers insurance premiums.
You can't have both ears covered while using a Bluetooth device, which means you shouldn't be using stereo headsets with your cell phone while driving.
Drivers under the age of 18 can't use a cell phone, pager, laptop or any other electronic communication or mobile services device to speak or text while driving in any manner, even hands-free. However, drivers under 18 will only be cited if they are pulled over for another driving violation first.
We'll have reviews of headsets all week here at PhoneTalk, as well as provide helpful tips for using a cell phone while in the car. In the meantime, check out our Bluetooth Headset Buying Guide for tips on picking a headset.